Web Technologies (WT14/15), Bachelor

Semester: WS 2014/2015
Study Courses: Information Systems Bachelor
Credit Points: 6CP
Contact person: Tom Michels

Description

Contents of the lecture include basics like HTML, CSS and JavaScript/AJAX. Furthermore there will be an overview of the classic databases in the context of the LAMP Stack and the MVC Pattern. NoSQL databases and XML/XQuery/xPath and XSLT will be viewed as well as the area of semantic data-representation with lower-case semantics, Web Ontology Language (OWL), Reasoning and rule-based conclusion. The end of the lecture will consist of the topics Big Data and Map/Reduce. All topics of the lecture will be practically applied by the students in the weekly exercises.

Dates and Rooms

Literature

Jeder Foliensatz umfasst eine Literaturliste / Relevant literature is listed in the slides

Organization

General information

  • Structure of the course: lecture (2SWH) and exercise (2 SWH)
  • Language of the lecture: German, partly English

Exercises

In preparation for the first exercise, every exercise participant may download a VirtualBox Virtual Machine (VM). This VM is pre-configured with Apache, MySQL, PHP and all further software necessary in the exercises. It can be readily used with one's own computer. Since VirtualBox can be freely used on Windows, Linux and Mac, exercise participants may use their own notebook. Participants who are reluctant to use their own notebook may run the VM on CiP Pool machines by using USB flash drives. The whole VM fits on an USB flash drive with at least 6 GB capacity.

Download Virtual Machine: WT_VM.zip (Warning: 1,7 GB)

Registration

Please register here for the lecture including the exercise. Registration for exam via VIPA.

Registration for the course at the ISS learning platform

Start and end of lecture

  • Start of the lecture: first week of semester, Friday, 10:15-11:45 am, Room 0.20, Building B4 1
  • Start of the exercise: first week of semester, Friday, 2:15-3:45 pm, Room 0.20, Building B4 1
  • End of the lecture and exercise: last week of semester

Exam

The lecture covers a module exam consisting of an exam (120 minutes) and the evaluation of the exercise, prepared by oneself or in groups. The module grade is composed as follows: 80% exam, 20% exercise.

Web Technologien (WT14/15), Bachelor

Semester: WS 2014/2015
Studiengänge : Wirtschaftsinformatik Bachelor
Credit Points: 6CP
Ansprechpartner: Tom Michels

Inhalt

Inhalte der Vorlesung sind u.a. Grundlagen wie HTML, CSS und JavaScript/AJAX. Des Weiteren soll ein Überblick über klassische Datenbanken im Kontext des LAMP Stacks und des MVC Patterns gegeben werden. NoSQL Datenbanken sowie XML/XQuery/XPath und XSLT werden ebenso betrachtet wie das Themengebiet der semantischen Datenrepräsentationen mit Lower-case Semantics, Web Ontology Language (OWL), Reasoning und regelbasiertem Schlussfolgern. Den Abschluss der Veranstaltung bilden die Themen Big Data und Map/Reduce. Alle Themen der Vorlesung werden in den wöchentlichen Übungen von den Studenten praktisch angewendet.

Termine und Räume

Literatur

Jeder Foliensatz umfasst eine Literaturliste / Relevant literature is listed in the slides

Organisation

Allgemeines zur Veranstaltung

  • Aufbau der Veranstaltung: VL (2 SWS) und Übung (2 SWS)
  • Sprache der Veranstaltung: Deutsch, teilweise Englisch

Regeln zum Übungsbetrieb

Der Vorlesungsstoff wird in der Übung im Rahmen der Bearbeitung von Mini-Projekten praktisch angewendet. Zudem kann sich jeder Teilnehmer zur praktischen Anwendung des Vorlesungsstoffs eine VirtualBox Virtual Machine (VM) herunterladen. Selbige ist schon vorkonfiguriert mit Apache, MySQL, PHP und aller weiteren notwendigen Software hinsichtlich des Vorlesungsstoffs. Die VM ist so konfiguriert, dass sie nur vom eigenen Rechner angesprochen werden kann. Da VirtualBox kostenlos für Windows, Linux und Mac bereitgestellt wird, kann jeder Teilnehmer seinen eigenen Rechner verwenden. Teilnehmer, die nicht mit einem eigenen Notebook teilnehmen können/wollen, können die VMs auf einem USB-Stick transportieren und auf den Rechnern im CiP Pool starten. Die VM ist so schlank gehalten, dass sie auf einem USB-Stick mit mind. 6 GB Kapazität transportiert werden kann.

Download der Virtual Machine: WT_VM.zip (Achtung: 1,7 GB)

Anmeldeformalitäten

Bitte melden Sie sich hier für die Veranstaltung inklusive Übung an. Die Anmeldung für die Klausur erfolgt über das VIPA.

Anmeldung zur Veranstaltung auf der ISS Lernplattform

Start und Ende der Vorlesung

  • Start der Vorlesung: 1. VL-Woche, Freitag, 10:15-11:45 Uhr, Raum 0.20, Geb. B4 1
  • Start der Übung: wird in der ersten Vorlesung bekannt gegeben, Freitag, 14:00-15:30 Uhr, Raum 0.20, Geb. B4 1
  • Ende der Vorlesung und Übung: letzte Vorlesungswoche

Prüfungsmodalitäten

Die Veranstaltung umfasst eine Modulprüfung bestehend aus der Klausur (120 Minuten) sowie der Bewertung der Übung, die in Gruppen angefertigt wird. Die Modulnote setzt sich wie folgt zusammen: 60% Klausur, 40% Übung.