Tutorial „Neuro-IS and R in practical use“ (RTut13/14), Bachelor & Master

Semester: WS 2013/2014
Study Courses: Information Systems (Ba, Ma), Business Economics (Ba, Ma), Business and Law (Ba, Ma) Business Education (Ba, Ma)
Credit Points: -
Contact person: Tobias Kowatsch

Description

The Tutorial „Neuro-IS and R in practical use“ should improve the ability of the participants to work scientifically. The event will be offered at WS 2013/2014 for all students (Bachelor and Master) of faculty 1. The aim of the tutorial is to get Bachelor and Master students in contact with challenging and current scientific issues and approaches to promote the academic qualifications of the students. Students will learn and internalize methods and procedures that allow them in their empirical thesis and/or subsequent scientific career to work well-founded. In addition, the tutorial intends that participants are able to handle the basic functions of R so they can use this independently and targeted during their studies especially during the Bachelor's and Master's Thesis.

The tutorial is divided into two blocks:

1. Neuro-IS:

In this part, a brief introduction to the field of Neuro Information Systems (Neuro-IS) is given. Then in the context of a practical exercise physiological parameters of the participating students are collected. Selected literature:

  • Dimoka, A., Pavlou, P.A. and Davis, F. (2011). NeuroIS: The Potential of Cognitive Neuroscience for Information Systems Research.

  • Dimoka, A., Banker, R.D., Benbasat, I., Davis, F.D., Dennis, A.R., Gefen, D., Gupta, A., Ischebeck, A., Kenning, P.H., Pavlou, P.A., Muller-Putz, G., Riedl, R., vom Brocke, J. and Weber, B. (2012). On the Use of Neurophysiological Tools in IS Research: Developing a Research Agenda for NeuroIS. MIS Quarterly, 36(3), 679-702.

2. R:

The second part of the tutorial will ensure that all participants are comfortable with basic R functions. Then, data collected during the first part will be analyzed with R (only one step is conducted with Matlab and Ledalab) and the results are discussed in the plenary. Selected literature:

  • Field, A., Miles, J. and Field, Z. (2012). Discovering Statistics Using R. (1st ed.) Sage, London.

Dates and Rooms

Organization

The one and a half-day block tutorial for bachelor, master and Phd students will be held on 29th and 30th of January 2014, consists of theoretical explanations that are underpinned by practical exercises. The number of participants is limited to 15 people. On request, a certificate may be issued.

Agenda:

  • 09:00 - 12:00 a.m., Wednesday, 29.01.2014, C3 1, R. 102 - Introduction NeuroIS, Research Questions, Development of Study Design
  • 2:00 - 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, 29.01.2014, C3 1, R. 101 - Realization of NeuroIS Study, Getting familiar with Hardware and Data Ascertainment
  • 09:00 - 12:00 a.m., Thursday, 30.01.2014, C3 1, R. 301 - Statistical Analysis with R

Registration for the tutorial and the organization of the course content will be carried out with the help of the ISS e-learning platform of the chair.

Participants will be asked in advance to install and to test R (http://www.r-project.org), RStudio IDE (http://www.rstudio.com), Matlab and Ledalab (http://www.ledalab.de) on their computers.

Tutorium „Neuro-IS und R in der praktischen Verwendung“ (RTut13/14), Bachelor & Master

Semester: WS 2013/2014
Studiengänge : Wirtschaftsinformatik (Ba, Ma), BWL (Ba, Ma), Wirtschaft und Recht (Ba, Ma), Wirtschaftspädagogik (Ba, Ma)
Credit Points: -
Ansprechpartner: Tobias Kowatsch

Inhalt

Der Tutorium „Neuro-IS und R in der praktischen Verwendung“ soll die Fähigkeiten der Teilnehmer wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten, fördern. Die Veranstaltung wird im Wintersemester 2013/2014 für alle Studenten (Bachelor und Master) der Fakultät 1 angeboten werden. Ziel des Tutoriums ist es, Bachelor- und Masterstudenten mit anspruchsvollen und aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen und Ansätzen in Kontakt zu bringen, um somit die wissenschaftliche Qualifikation der Studenten zu fördern. Die Studenten sollen Methoden und Vorgehensweisen kennen lernen und verinnerlichen, die es ihnen erlauben in ihrer empirischen Abschlussarbeit und/oder späteren wissenschaftlichen Karriere fundiert zu arbeiten. Des Weiteren beabsichtigt das Tutorium, dass die Teilnehmer die grundlegenden Funktionen von R beherrschen und diese selbständig und zielführend im Rahmen ihres Studiums insbesondere während der Bachelor- und Masterarbeit einsetzen können.

Das Tutorium gliedert sich in zwei Blöcke:

1. Neuro-IS:

In diesem Teil wird eine kurze Einführung in das Gebiet Neuro Information Systems (Neuro-IS) gegeben. Im Rahmen der praktischen Übung werden u.a. physiologische Parameter der Teilnehmer gesammelt (z.B. Hautleitwerte). Ausgewählte Literatur:

  • Dimoka, A., Pavlou, P.A. and Davis, F. (2011). NeuroIS: The Potential of Cognitive Neuroscience for Information Systems Research.

  • Dimoka, A., Banker, R.D., Benbasat, I., Davis, F.D., Dennis, A.R., Gefen, D., Gupta, A., Ischebeck, A., Kenning, P.H., Pavlou, P.A., Muller-Putz, G., Riedl, R., vom Brocke, J. and Weber, B. (2012). On the Use of Neurophysiological Tools in IS Research: Developing a Research Agenda for NeuroIS. MIS Quarterly, 36(3), 679-702.

2. R:

Im zweiten Teil des Tutoriums wird eine Einführung in R gegeben. Dann werden die Daten, die im ersten Teil der Tutoriums gesammelt wurden, mit R analysiert und im Plenum diskutiert (Matlab und Ledalab werden nur in einem Prozessschritt genutzt). Ausgewählte Literatur:

  • Field, A., Miles, J. and Field, Z. (2012). Discovering Statistics Using R. (1st ed.) Sage, London.

Termine und Räume

Organisation

Das eineinhalbtägige Block-Tutorium findet am 29.01.2014 und 30.01.2014 statt, besteht aus theoretischen Erläuterungen, die durch praktische Übungen unterfüttert werden und richtet sich an Bachelor- und Masterstudenten sowie Doktoranden. Die Teilnehmerzahl ist auf 15 Personen beschränkt. Auf Wunsch kann ein Teilnahmezertifikat ausgestellt werden.

Vorläufige Agenda:

  • 09:00 - 12:00 Uhr, Mi, 29.01.2014, Geb. C3 1, R. 102 - Einführung NeuroIS, Forschungsfragen, Ergebnisse aus Forschungsprojekten, eigenes Studiendesign erstellen
  • 14:00 - 17:30 Uhr, Mi, 29.01.2014, Geb. C3 1, R. 101 - Durchführung NeuroIS-Studie inkl. Erläuterung der Hardware und Datenerhebung
  • 09:00 - 12:00 Uhr, Do 30.01.2014, Geb. C3 1, R. 301 - Statistische Auswertung der Daten mit R

Die Anmeldung für das Tutorium und die Organisation der Lehrinhalte wird mit Hilfe der ISS Lernplattform des Lehrstuhls durchgeführt.

Die Teilnehmer werden gebeten, vorab R (http://www.r-project.org), RStudio IDE (http://www.rstudio.com), Matlab sowie Ledalab (http://www.ledalab.de) auf ihren Rechnern zu installieren und zu testen.