Introduction into Data Science (IntroDS17), Master & Promotion

Semester: SS2017
Study Courses: Master Business Administration, Master Information Systems, Master Business Administration and Law, Master Business Pedagogics
Credit Points: 6 CP
Contact person: Iaroslav Shcherbatyi

Description

Organizations in industry and research use data for decision support and to build data-intensive products and services. The skill set required by organizations to support these processes has been covered by the term Data Science. Ranging from scalable data management, parallel algorithms, statistical modeling, and the handling of a complex ecosystem of tools and platforms to solve business problems, skills required for analytics of massive data touch a variety of disciplines. The course attempts to articulate the expected output of future Data Scientists and tries to equip participants with the ability to meet these expectations by giving them methodical how-to knowledge combined with answers to why- and when-questions. As one of the pitfalls of data analysis is attempting to solve the wrong problem, the lecture will also focus on the business side to illuminating how to solve business problems and how to address the correct data questions. Lectures of the course cover concepts and tools participants will need throughout the entire Data Science pipeline, starting with asking the right kind of questions for making inferences to communicating and visualizing results as well as transforming them into business models. In accompanying exercises introduced methods and algorithms will be applied practically, involving web programming, statistics, and the ability to manipulate data sets with code. In a final project work participants will apply all the skills learned by building up a data-intensive product or service for solving a concrete business problem with real-world data.

Dates and Rooms

Organization

General information

  • Composition of lecture: lectures and exercises
  • Teaching language: English

Recommended Background

We expect you to have taken the Math courses in department 1 or 6 as well as the Statistics courses held by Dr. Martin Becker (descriptive and inferential statistics). Furthermore, you should hold basic programming skills (Python, Java, C++, C# or similar). In case you have passed Programming I & II at department 6, you should be prepared accordingly.

Registration

The number of participants is restricted to 25. Please, enrol yourself via https://lehre.iss.uni-saarland.de/. All information and documents regarding the course will be published there. For the exam, please register via VIPA.

Exam

The course covers a module test consisting of an exam (120 minutes) (60% of module grade) as well as the grade of the exercise (40% of module grade). PhD students can get a seminar certificate for participating in the lecture if they pass the exercises, i.e. their exercise was graded with 4.0 or better.

Introduction into Data Science (IntroDS17), Master & Promotion

Semester: SS2017
Studiengänge : Master Business Administration, Master Information Systems, Master Business Administration and Law, Master Business Pedagogics
Credit Points: 6 CP
Ansprechpartner: Iaroslav Shcherbatyi

Inhalt

Unternehmen im Forschungs- und Industriebereich greifen auf Daten zurück, um Entscheidungen abzusichern und um datenintensive Produkte und Dienstleistungen anzubieten. Die für diese Prozesse benötigten Kompetenzen werden unter dem Begriff Data Science (Datenwissenschaften) zusammengefasst. Die Analyse von großen Datenmengen setzt sich unter anderem aus skalierbarem Datenmanagement, parallelen Algorithmen, statistischer Modellierung sowie einem sicheren Umgang mit dem komplexen Zusammenspiel verschiedenster Instrumente und Plattformen zusammen und ist in unterschiedlichen Disziplinen verankert. Diese Vorlesung soll den Teilnehmern zum Einen verdeutlichen, was von zukünftigen Data Scientists (Datenwissenschaftlern) erwartet wird und ihnen zum Anderen die Fähigkeiten vermitteln, um diese Erwartungen auch erfüllen zu können. Das im Kurs vermittelte methodische Wissen soll nicht nur ein kurzes „How-To“ darstellen, sondern die Teilnehmer befähigen, selbstständig entscheiden zu können, wann und warum bestimmte Methoden eingesetzt werden. Da eine der größten Probleme bei der Datenanalyse oftmals in einer falschen Fragestellung liegt, wird die Vorlesung auch auf die Unternehmensperspektive eingehen, um unternehmenstypische Probleme zu lösen und die richtigen Fragestellungen für eine passende Datenanalyse zu stellen. In der Vorlesung werden Konzepte und Instrumente vorgestellt, die im Verlauf der gesamten Data Science-Pipeline gebraucht werden. Neben der richtigen Herangehensweise wird die Vorlesung auf die Interpretation der Analyseergebnisse sowie deren Visualisierung und Umwandlung in Geschäftsmodelle eingehen. In begleitenden Übungen werden vorgestellte Methoden und Algorithmen praktisch angewendet, wobei Web-Programmierung, Statistik und die Manipulation von Datenmengen im Mittelpunkt stehen. In einem Abschlussprojekt wenden die Teilnehmer das Gelernte an, entwickeln ein datenintensives Produkt bzw. eine Dienstleistung und lösen somit ein konkretes unternehmensspezifisches Problem mit realen Daten.

Termine und Räume

Organisation

Allgemeines zur Veranstaltung

  • Aufbau der Veranstaltung: Vorlesung und Übung
  • Sprache der Veranstaltung: Englisch

Empfohlene Vorkenntnisse

Wir erwarten, dass Sie bereits die Mathematikvorlesungen der Fakultät 1 oder 6 sowie die Statistikvorlesungen von Dr. Martin Becker („Deskriptive Statistik und Wahrscheinlichkeitsrechnung“, „Schließende Statistik“) belegt haben. Des Weiteren sollten Sie für eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme zumindest über Grundkenntnisse in den gängigen Programmiersprachen (Python, Java, C++, C# etc.) verfügen. Wenn Sie Programmierung I und II der Fakultät 6 abgeschlossen haben, sollten Sie entsprechend vorbereitet sein.

Anmeldeformalitäten

Die Teilnehmeranzahl ist auf 25 begrenzt. Bitte melden Sie sich selbst über https://lehre.iss.uni-saarland.de/ an. Alle weiteren Informationen und Dokumente finden Sie dort. Bitte melden Sie sich zudem für die Prüfung über das Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Prüfungssekretariat VIPA an.

Prüfungsformalitäten

Die Prüfung setzt sich aus einer Klausur (120 Min.) (60% der Modulnote) und der Übungsnote (40% der Modulnote) zusammen. Doktoranden können eine Teilnahmebescheinigung für die Vorlesung erhalten, wenn sie die Übungen bestehen, d.h. diese Arbeit mindestens mit der Note 4.0 abschließen.