Colloquium "Advanced Statistics" (DokSem15), Master & Promotion

Semester: SS 2015
Study Courses: Wirtschaftsinformatik, BWL, EFP, Wirtschaft und Recht, Wirtschaftspädagogik
Credit Points: 12 CP
Contact person: Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Maaß

Description

In many areas which are dominated by empirical research, e.g. economy, psychology or sociology, scientific research consists of the analysis of complex systems. The dependencies in these systems are unknown and a stochastic approach appears reasonable. By implication, the assumptions about the stochastic terms have a direct impact on the results of the research program.

To include this circumstance, the model should implement any information given and update the model if it appears necessary. This is the main characteristic of Bayesian Statistics, which focus lies on conditional probabilities. This approach enables an inductive model update or model learning via Bayes´ Rule, which takes every information given into account.

This course imparts the basic principles of the Bayesian approach and compares them with non-Bayesian methods which are widely used in many scientific domains. Furthermore, some practical applications with the software program R are also part of this course.

Dates and Rooms

Literature

Basics

  • Hoff, P. D. (2009) A First Course in Bayesian Statistical Methods NY, Springer.

Organization

Master or Ph.D. students can participate in the colloquium. Please, registrate via ISS eLearning platform.

The number of participants is limited to 6 - 10 students.

Master students have to prepare a topic by writing a paper and presenting the results. Paper and presentations will represent 45 and 40 percent of the final grad. Additionally, the active participation in discussions during all sessions is will be calculated as 15% of the final grade.

Ph.D. students have to prepare all topics to be able to discuss. Furthermore, they will lead the discussion of one empirical or statistical topic that they worked out in detail. Grading of this course consists of leadership-performance (60%) as well as general participation in the course (40%).

Seminar "Advanced Statistics" (DokSem15), Master & Promotion

Semester: SS 2015
Studiengänge : Wirtschaftsinformatik, BWL, EFP, Wirtschaft und Recht, Wirtschaftspädagogik
Credit Points: 12 CP
Ansprechpartner: Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Maaß

Inhalt

Viele wissenschaftliche Arbeiten aus den Bereichen Ökonomie, Psychologie oder Soziologie befassen sich mit komplexen Systemen, deren Abhängigkeitsstrukturen sich oftmals nur mit Hilfe stochastischer Größen modellieren lassen. Hierdurch haben die Prämissen über die stochastischen Terme einen direkten Einfluss auf die Ergebnisse der Untersuchung.

Aus diesem Grund erscheint es sinnvoll, diese Prämissen bei Vorlage neuer Informationen unter Umständen abzuändern. Dieser Aspekt ist charakteristisch für Bayessche Statistik, bei der der bedingte Wahrscheinlichkeitsbegriff im Vordergrund steht. Dieser ermöglicht durch die Regel von Bayes eine induktive Modellanpassung, die sämtliche zur Verfügung stehenden Informationen mit einbezieht und damit unter Umständen ein realistischeres Abbild der Realität ermöglicht.

Dieser Kurs soll hierzu die notwendigen Grundlagen vermitteln. Die dargestellten Methoden werden mit den im wissenschaftlichen Bereich weit verbreiteten Ansätzen, die eben keinen Bayesschen Ansatz wählen verglichen. Weiterhin soll eine praktische Anwendung an Beispielen mit der Software R aufgezeigt werden.

Termine und Räume

Literatur

Basics

  • Hoff, P. D. (2009) A First Course in Bayesian Statistical Methods NY, Springer.

Organisation

Masterstudenten und Doktoranden haben die Möglichkeit sich über die ISS Lernplattform für das Seminar anzumelden.

Die Teilnehmerzahl ist begrenzt auf 6 bis maximal 10 Studenten. Es besteht Anwesenheitspflicht. Jede Woche wird ein Thema der insgesamt 6 – 10 Seminarthemen besprochen.

Masterstudenten bereiten ein Thema vor, indem sie eine Ausarbeitung schreiben und eine Präsentation halten. Ausarbeitung und Präsentation gehen zu 45% bzw. 40% in die Gesamtnote ein. Die aktive Beteiligung an den Diskussionen an allen Terminen geht mit 15% in die Note ein.

Doktoranden bereiten sich auf alle Themen vor und erarbeiten ein empirisches oder statistisches Thema in der Tiefe, um dann die Führung der Diskussion zum jeweiligen Termin zu übernehmen. In die Bewertung des Seminars geht die Führungsleistung (60%) sowie die sonstige Mitarbeit im Seminar (40%) ein.