Cooperative Colloquium "Latent Curve Models" by Prof. Friedmann, Prof. Maass, Dr. Martin Becker and Dr. Stefan Klößner (DokSem13/14), Master & Promotion

Semester: WS 2013/2014
Study Courses: Open
Credit Points: Master (12 CP)
Contact person: Sabine Janzen

Description

Empirical work with methods derived from psychology and sociology became a central research paradigm in several fields of economic research. An increasing number of scientific publications utilizes basic as well as complex methods of empirical research and statistical modeling and evaluation. In the context, the examination of latent variables is of great interest, which enables analyzing cognitive factors and hidden social factors that cannot be observed directly. Alternatively, explorative and confirmatory methods are applied. The statistic modeling with the structural equation model, for instance Partial Least Squares Regression (PLS), dominates research in information systems for more than two decades. Although, PLS is preferred, because it enables valid results even for small samples. Furthermore, Infrequently non-linear models and methods are used, since psychological and sociological coherencies are not regularly linear by nature. World’s leading universities focus on learning and utilization of these empirical and statistical methods in economic research and especially in research of information systems / business informatics as well as marketing. Within this seminar, relevant topics concerning structural equation models (LISREL, PLS) and their application in empirical research will be discussed from the perspective of empirical research as well as of statistic modeling and analysis.

Dates and Rooms

Literature

Basics

  • Bollen, K. A., & Curran, P. J. (2006). Latent curve models: A structural equation perspective (Vol. 467). Wiley. com.
  • Kaplan, D. (2000) Structural equation modeling: Foundations and extensions. Thousand Oaks, CA, Sage.
  • Kline, R.B. (2010) Principles and practice of structural equation modeling, NY, Guildford Press.

Discussion of Structural Equation Modeling and PLS in Information Systems

  • Chin, W. (1998) The Partial Least Squares Approach to Structural Equation Modeling, MIS Quarterly 22(1), pp. vii-xvi.
  • Gefen, D., Straub, D., and Boudreau, M. (2000) Structural Equation Modeling Techniques and Regression: Guidelines for Research Practice, Comm. of AIS, 7(7), p.1-78.
  • Goodhue, D., Lewis, W., and Thompson, R. (2012) Does PLS have advantages for small sample size or non-normal data?, MIS Quarterly, 36(3), pp. 981-1001.

Organization

Master or Ph.D. students can participate in the seminar. Please, registrate via ISS eLearning platform until 17.07.2013. The first preliminary discussion will take place at 17.07.2013, 2 p.m. (c.t.) in room 2.03 in building A5 3.

The number of participants is limited to 6 - 10 students. The course will take place weekly in room 2.03 in building A5 3. Concrete day of week and time will be discussed in the seminar. Attendance is compulsory. Every week, one topic out of 6-10 topics will be discussed.

Master students have to prepare a topic by writing a paper and presenting the results. Paper and presentations will represent 45 and 40 percent of the final grad. Additionally, the active participation in discussions during all sessions is will be calculated as 15% of the final grade.

Ph.D. students have to prepare all topics to be able to discuss. Furthermore, they will lead the discussion of one empirical or statistical topic that they worked out in detail. Grading of this course consists of leadership-performance (60%) as well as general participation in the course (40%).

Attention: This seminar gives no introduction into specialized software packages, for instance SPSS AMOS or Smart PLS. Nevertheless, within this course each participants should be able to become acquainted with these software packages by self-study.

Kooperatives Seminar "Latent Curve Models" unter der Leitung von Prof. Friedmann, Prof. Maass, Dr. Martin Becker und Dr. Stefan Klößner (DokSem13/14), Master & Promotion

Semester: WS 2013/2014
Studiengänge : Offen
Credit Points: Master (12 CP)
Ansprechpartner: Sabine Janzen

Inhalt

Empirisches Arbeiten mit Arbeitsmethoden aus der Psychologie und Soziologie ist in vielen Bereichen der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Forschung zu einem zentralen Forschungsparadigma geworden. Es lässt sich eine zunehmende Anzahl von empirischen Arbeiten identifizieren, die einfache, aber auch komplexere Methoden der empirischen Forschung und der statistischen Modellierung und Auswertung anwenden. Im Besonderen ist hier die Untersuchung latenter Variablen interessant, die es ermöglichen, nicht direkt beobachtbare kognitive Faktoren oder verborgene soziale Faktoren zu analysieren. Wahlweise kommen hier explorative und konfirmatorische Methoden zum Einsatz. Die statistische Modellierung mit Strukturgleichungsmodellen, insb. Partial Least Squares Regression (PLS), dominiert bspw. seit zwei Jahrzehnten die Information Systems Forschung. PLS wird dabei besonders bevorzugt, da diese Methode i.A. stichhaltige Ergebnisse auch bei kleineren Stichproben ermöglicht. Sporadisch werden auch nicht-lineare Modelle und Methoden eingesetzt. Dies ist vielversprechend, da psychologische und soziologische Zusammenhänge selten rein linearer Natur zu sein scheinen. Weltweit führende Universitäten legen in den Bereichen der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Forschung und insb. der Forschung zu Information Systems / Wirtschaftsinformatik und Marketing einen Schwerpunkt auf die Erlernung und die Anwendung eben dieser empirischen und statistischen Methoden. In diesem Seminar sollen relevante Themen aus der Perspektive der empirischen Forschung sowie der statistischen Modellierung und Auswertung gemeinsam erarbeitet werden, u.a. Strukturgleichungsmodelle (LISREL, PLS) und deren Anwendung in der empirischen Forschung, insbesondere in der Wirtschaftsinformatik (Information Systems).

Termine und Räume

Literatur

Basics

  • Bollen, K. A., & Curran, P. J. (2006). Latent curve models: A structural equation perspective (Vol. 467). Wiley. com.
  • Kaplan, D. (2000) Structural equation modeling: Foundations and extensions. Thousand Oaks, CA, Sage.
  • Kline, R.B. (2010) Principles and practice of structural equation modeling, NY, Guildford Press.

Discussion of Structural Equation Modeling and PLS in Information Systems

  • Chin, W. (1998) The Partial Least Squares Approach to Structural Equation Modeling, MIS Quarterly 22(1), pp. vii-xvi.
  • Gefen, D., Straub, D., and Boudreau, M. (2000) Structural Equation Modeling Techniques and Regression: Guidelines for Research Practice, Comm. of AIS, 7(7), p.1-78.
  • Goodhue, D., Lewis, W., and Thompson, R. (2012) Does PLS have advantages for small sample size or non-normal data?, MIS Quarterly, 36(3), pp. 981-1001.

Organisation

Masterstudenten und Doktoranden haben die Möglichkeit sich bis zum 17.07.2013 über die ISS Lernplattform für das Doktorandenseminar anzumelden. Die erste Vorbesprechung findet am 17.07.2013, um 14:00 Uhr (c.t.) in Gebäude A5 3, Raum 2.03 statt.

Die Teilnehmerzahl ist begrenzt auf 6 bis maximal 10 Studenten. Die Veranstaltung findet wöchentlich in Gebäude A5 3, Raum 2.03 statt. Der genaue Wochentag wird im Rahmen des Seminars festgelegt. Es besteht Anwesenheitspflicht. Jede Woche wird ein Thema der insgesamt 6 – 10 Seminarthemen besprochen.

Masterstudenten bereiten ein Thema vor, indem sie eine Ausarbeitung schreiben und eine Präsentation halten. Ausarbeitung und Präsentation gehen zu 45% bzw. 40% in die Gesamtnote ein. Die aktive Beteiligung an den Diskussionen an allen Terminen geht mit 15% in die Note ein.

Doktoranden bereiten sich auf alle Themen vor und erarbeiten ein empirisches oder statistisches Thema in der Tiefe, um dann die Führung der Diskussion zum jeweiligen Termin zu übernehmen. In die Bewertung des Seminars geht die Führungsleistung (60%) sowie die sonstige Mitarbeit im Seminar (40%) ein.

Anmerkung: Dieses Seminar bietet keine Einführung in spezielle Software-Pakete, wie bspw. SPSS AMOS oder Smart PLS. Gleichwohl sollten Teilnehmer des Seminars durch das Seminar in die Lage versetzt werden, derartige Software-Pakete rasch im Selbststudium zu erlernen.