Kongress der Trinationalen Metropolregion Oberrhein (TMO)

Hochschule Furtwangen University presents itself within the Franco-German-Swiss Conference of the Upper Rhine on March 30th, 2009 in the Representation of the State of Baden-Württemberg at the EU in Brussels with an exhibit of the Research Center for Intelligent Media at the Faculty of Digital Media. Among the exhibitors are e.g. the Université de Haute Alsace (UHA), the Alsace BioValley/IRCAD, Burda Media, Herrenknecht and VITRA.

As guests of the event Prof. Dr. Hubert Burda (Hubert Burda Media Group), Günther H. Oettinger (Minister President of the State of Baden-Württemberg) and Günter Verheugen (Vice-President of the European Commission) are expected.

duravit.png hfu.png

The “Intelligent Bathroom” is an interdisciplinary project which is based on previous developments of the research center as part of the BMBF-project Smart Product Networks and of the EU-project Interactive Knowledge Stack (IKS). In cooperation with Duravit AG the prototype of an intelligent bathroom was developed which demonstrates the integration of information and technologies into physical environments and objects. It consists of two parts: a “Wash Space” and a “Dress Space”.

Duravit

Copyright © Duravit

The “Wash Space” includes a bathroom environment which detectes the user in front of the mirror and shows user-specific information using web services and web 2.0 services (e.g. Twitter). The system evaluates among other things the calendar (Google Calendar) of the user and notes that the first appointment with a customer starts already at 8 o’clock. Fitting to the situation the user is welcomed with Gnarls Barkley's “Run”. The second part of the exhibition is a dressing room - the “Dress Space”. If the user of the system leaves the “Wash Space” and moves to the “Dress Space” the music and the other information will follow him. The latter are shown on a screen in the dressing room. The “Dress Space” supports the user in the selection of clothes with the help of a recommendation agent on an Android phone (G1). This is based on the Tip ’n Tell-Framework and generates outfit suggestions clothes currently available in the wardrobe, which labels are marked with optical tags. Semantic product descriptions and the application of web-based rule languages build the core of the recommendation agent. The “Intelligent Bathroom” is the basis for the evaluation and further development of an interactive, ambient intelligent knowledge management embedded in a bathroom environment developed by the EU-project IKS.

Press report of the State of Baden-Württemberg

Kongress der Trinationalen Metropolregion Oberrhein (TMO)

Die Hochschule Furtwangen präsentiert sich im Rahmen der Deutsch-Französisch-Schweizerischen Oberrheinkonferenz am 30.03.2009 in der Vertretung des Landes Baden-Württemberg bei der EU in Brüssel mit einem Exponat des Forschungszentrums für Intelligente Medien der Fakultät Digitale Medien. Zu den Austellern gehören z.B. die Université de Haute Alsace (UHA), das Alsace Biovalley / IRCAD, Burda Media, Herrenknecht und VITRA.

Als Gäste der Veranstaltung werden unter anderem Prof. Dr. Hubert Burda (Hubert Burda Medien Gruppe), Günther H. Oettinger (Ministerpräsident des Landes Baden-Württemberg) und Günter Verheugen (Vizepräsident der Europäischen Kommission) erwartet.

duravit.png hfu.png

Das "Intelligente Bad" ist ein interdisziplinäres Projekt, welches auf bisherigen Entwicklungen des Forschungszentrums im Rahmen des BMBF-Projektes Smart Product Networks und des EU-Projektes Interactive Knowledge Stack (IKS) beruht. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Duravit AG wurde der Prototyp eines intelligenten Badezimmers entwickelt, welcher die Integration von Informationen und Technologien in physische Umgebungen und Objekte demonstriert. Er umfasst zwei Bereiche: einen "Wash Space" und einen "Dress Space".

Duravit Bild

Copyright © Duravit Ersterer umfasst eine interaktive Badausstattung, welche den Benutzer vor dem Spiegel erkennt und nutzerspezifische Informationen darstellt, die über Web Services bzw. Web2.0-Angebote (z.B. Twitter) bezogen und profilbasiert ausgewertet werden. So wertet das System u.a. den Kalender (Google Calendar) des Nutzers aus und stellt fest, dass der erste Termin mit einem Kunden bereits um 8 Uhr beginnt. Passend begrüsst das Intelligente Bad den Nutzer mit Gnarls Barkley's "Run". Der zweite Teil des Exponats, der „Dress Space“, stellt einen Ankleidebereich dar. Wenn der Nutzer des Systems den „Wash Space“ verlässt, um sich anzukleiden, begleiten ihn die Musik und die weiteren Informationen. Letztere werden auf einem Display im Ankleidebereich dargestellt. Der „Dress-Space“ unterstützt den Benutzer bei der Auswahl seiner Kleidung mit Hilfe eines Empfehlungsassistenten auf einem Android Handy (G1). Dieser basiert auf dem Tip `n Tell-Framework und generiert Outfit-Vorschläge aus dem Bestand der im Schrank vorhandenen Kleidungsstücke, deren Etikett mit einem optischem Tag gekennzeichnet ist. Semantische Produktbeschreibungen und die Anwendung web-basierter Regelsprachen bilden den Kern des Empfehlungsassistenten. Das „Intelligente Bad“ stellt die Grundlage für die Evaluierung und Weiterentwicklung eines interaktiven, umgebungsintelligenten Wissensmanagements eingebettet in eine Badezimmer-Umgebung dar, welche im EU-Projekt IKS entwickelt wird.

Pressemeldung des Landesportals Baden-Württemberg