SPAICER - Scalable adaptive production systems through AI-based resilience optimization

Funding: „Artificial intelligence as a driver for economically relevant ecosystems“ (AI innovation competition) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)
Duration: 01.04.2020 - 31.03.2023 (36 months)
Project Volume: 10,4 Mio. €

The innovation competition „Artificial Intelligence as a Driver for Economically Relevant Ecosystems“ (AI Innovation Competition) of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) is a first concrete step towards implementing the Federal Government's Artificial Intelligence Strategy. Within the framework of the AI innovation competition, the BMWi intends to promote outstanding approaches for new forms of AI-based platform economy in important sectors of the German economy. The aim is to realise large, assertive lighthouse projects that provide impetus for entire sectors of the economy. A total of 16 large collaborative projects emerged as winners from the competition phase and were awarded prizes in Berlin on 19 September 2019, including the SPAICER consortium, which successfully prevailed against strong, national competition and will be funded with more than 10 million euros for three years from 1 April 2020.

In addition to the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), which acts as coordinator, the Machine Tool Laboratory (WZL) at RWTH Aachen University, the University of Freiburg, the Technical University of Darmstadt, the Institute for Technology and Innovation Management at RWTH Aachen University, the Otto Beisheim School of Management (WHU), deZem, Feintool, SAP, SCHOTT, SCHAEFFLER, SEITEC, SENSEERING and Waelzholz are involved in SPAICER. Over 40 associated partners support the project consortium with important practical knowledge.

In a globalized and networked economy, production interruptions, including the interruption of supply chains, have been the leading business risk for many years. The ability of a company to permanently adapt to internal and external changes and disruptions is the „search for resilience“. Reinforced by a significant increase in complexity in production due to Industry 4.0, resilience management is thus becoming an indispensable success factor for production companies. The SPAICER project develops a data-driven ecosystem based on life-long, collaborative and low-threshold Smart Resilience Services by using leading AI technologies and Industry 4.0 standards with the aim of anticipating disruptions (anticipation) and optimally adapting production planning to active disruptions at any time (response).

spaicer-webseite-bild.jpg

In SPAICER, AI technologies are transformed into Smart Resilience Services (SRS) with a clear value proposition, integrated into production environments and networked with each other. To ensure the reusability of SRS and the exchange with partners (SRS ecosystems), platforms are developed and operated according to different "Industry 4.0" standards on existing base platforms. To achieve this goal, (1) machine learning methods (ML) are particularly suitable for deriving forecasts and recommendations for action from data, and (2) formal planning and inference methods (PI) for the controlled application of structured knowledge. The combination of these two worlds is one of the most active areas of AI research. Since changes in production planning have far-reaching, entrepreneurial effects, they must be worked out interactively in collaborative environments together with production experts and decision-makers via natural-language interfaces (Explainable AI). At the architectural level, SPAICER will investigate hybrid AI-oriented architectures, which distribute SRS to edge devices (including production machines) and cloud environments in an optimized way according to their performance and data protection requirements.

Further information about the project can be found at spaicer.de.

Consortium

spaicer-logos-gross.jpg

SPAICER - Skalierbare adaptive Produktionssysteme durch KI-basierte Resilienzoptimierung

Förderung: „Künstliche Intelligenz als Treiber für volkswirtschaftlich relevante Ökosysteme“ (KI-Innovationswettbewerb) des Bundeministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)
Projektlaufzeit: 01.04.2020 bis 31.03.2023 (36 Monate)
Projektvolumen: 10,4 Mio. €

Der Innovationswettbewerb „Künstliche Intelligenz als Treiber für volkswirtschaftlich relevante Ökosysteme“ (KI-Innovationswettbewerb) des Bundeministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) ist ein erster konkreter Schritt zur Umsetzung der Strategie Künstliche Intelligenz der Bundesregierung. Im Rahmen des KI-Innovationswettbewerbs will das BMWi herausragende Ansätze für neue Formen KI-basierter Plattformökonomie in wichtigen Sektoren der deutschen Wirtschaft fördern. Ziel ist es, große, durchsetzungsstarke Leuchtturmprojekte zu realisieren, die Impulse für ganze Wirtschaftszweige geben. Insgesamt 16 große Verbundprojekte gingen als Gewinner aus der Wettbewerbsphase hervor und wurden am 19.09.2019 in Berlin ausgezeichnet, darunter das SPAICER-Konsortium, welches sich erfolgreich gegen starke, nationale Konkurrenz durchgesetzt hat und ab 01.04.2020 drei Jahre lang mit mehr als 10 Millionen Euro gefördert wird.

An SPAICER sind neben dem Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI), welches als Koordinator agiert, das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor (WZL) an der RWTH Aachen, die Universität Freiburg, die Technische Universität Darmstadt, das Institut für Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement der RWTH Aachen, die Otto Beisheim School of Management (WHU), deZem, Feintool, SAP, SCHOTT, SCHAEFFLER, SEITEC, SENSEERING und Waelzholz beteiligt. Über 40 assoziierte Partner unterstützen mit wichtigem Praxiswissen das Projektkonsortium.

In einer globalisierten und vernetzten Wirtschaftswelt sind Produktionsunterbrechungen inklusive der Unterbrechung von Lieferketten seit vielen Jahren das führende Geschäftsrisiko. Die Fähigkeit eines Unternehmens, sich permanent an interne und externe Veränderungen und Störungen anzupassen, ist die „Suche nach Resilienz“. Verstärkt durch einen erheblichen Komplexitätszuwachs in der Produktion durch Industrie 4.0, wird somit das Resilienz-Management zu einem unabdingbaren Erfolgsfaktor für Produktionsunternehmen. Das Projekt SPAICER entwickelt ein datengetriebenes Ökosystem auf der Basis lebenslanger, kollaborativer und niederschwelliger Smarter Resilienz-Services durch Einsatz führender KI-Technologien und Industrie 4.0 Standards mit dem Ziel, Störungen vorherzusehen (Antizipation) und Produktionsplanungen jederzeit an aktive Störungen optimiert anzupassen (Reaktion).

spaicer-webseite-bild.jpg

In SPAICER werden KI-Technologien in Smarte Resilienz-Services (SRS) mit eindeutigem Nutzenversprechen überführt, in Produktionsumgebungen integriert und miteinander vernetzt. Um die Wiederverwendbarkeit von SRS und den Austausch mit Partnern (SRS-Ökosysteme) zu sichern, werden Plattformen entsprechend verschiedener „Industrie 4.0“-Standards auf bestehenden Basisplattformen entwickelt und betrieben. Zur Erreichung dieses Ziels sind (1) Methoden des Maschinellen Lernens (ML) besonders geeignet, um aus Daten Prognosen und Handlungsempfehlungen abzuleiten sowie (2) formale Planungs- und Inferenzmethoden (PI), um strukturiertes Wissen kontrolliert einzusetzen. Die Verbindung dieser beiden Welten gehört zu den aktivsten Bereichen der KI-Forschung. Da Änderungen an Produktionsplanungen weitreichende, unternehmerische Auswirkungen haben, müssen diese in kollaborativen Umgebungen zusammen mit Produktionsexperten und Entscheidern interaktiv über natürlich-sprachliche Schnittstellen erarbeitet werden (Explainable AI). Auf Architekturebene sollen in SPAICER hybride KI-orientierte Architekturen untersucht werden, welche SRS entsprechend ihrer Leistungsfähigkeit und Datenschutzanforderungen optimiert auf Edge Devices (u. a. Produktionsmaschinen) und auf Cloud-Umgebungen verteilen.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie unter spaicer.de.

Konsortium

spaicer-logos-gross.jpg