SmART - Smart Art

The project SmART (Smart Art) takes place within the project studies in the Research Center for Intelligent Media (RCIM) at the Hochschule Furtwangen University in cooperation with the University of St. Gallen.

Art in public areas is often not perceived as such and there is no dialogue between artwork and viewer. Thus, the substantive access to the artwork is often denied.

Within the project it will be examined how artworks in public areas can get in touch with their potential viewers within their environment. The aim of the project is to integrate the viewers into the artwork by intelligent media systems and to improve the communication between viewers and the artwork.

According to the idea of Web2.0, we will provide a form of Art2.0 in which viewers contribute anonymously to the artwork and in consequence create a common art experience. Apart from the distributed meta-data about the artwork and it's artist, audio-visual design elements and various optical sensors provide an individual art experience for each viewer.

hfu.png uni-stgallen.png

SmART - Smart Art

Das Projekt SmART (Smart Art) findet im Rahmen des Projektstudiums im Forschungszentrum für Intelligente Medien (RCIM) an der Hochschule Furtwangen in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität St. Gallen statt.

Kunst im öffentlichen Raum wird häufig nicht als solche wahrgenommen und es findet kein Dialog zwischen Kunstwerk und Betrachter statt. Somit bleibt der inhaltliche Zugang zum Kunstwerk oft verwehrt.

Innerhalb des Projektes wird untersucht, wie Kunstobjekte im öffentlichen Raum mit den potentiellen Betrachtern in ihrem Umfeld in Kontakt treten können. Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Betrachter durch intelligente Mediensysteme in das Kunstwerk zu integrieren und die Kommunikation zwischen den Betrachtern und dem Kunstwerk zu erweitern.

Nach dem Prinzip von Web2.0 bieten wir eine Form von Art2.0, in der die Betrachter anonym zum Kunstwerk beitragen und somit ein gemeinsames Gruppen-Kunsterlebnis schaffen. Neben der Bereitstellung von Metadaten zu Kunstwerk und Künstler entsteht durch audio-visuelle Gestaltungselemente und verschiedene optische Sensoren ein individueller Erlebniskontext für jeden einzelnen der Betrachter.

hfu.png uni-stgallen.png