more4less - Shopping Advisor at Point of Sale

Idea

The "more4less" prototype has been delevoped in the information technology research project and gives customers the possibility to get assistance in a buying decision process. By using the more4less terminal in a shop, in our case a fashion store, the customer has two main advantages in the decision process: on the one hand the advisor suggests additive products to complete an outfit. On the other hand the customer gets a dynamic discount for the system usage and the buying of product bundles.

Concept

All products in the shop are equiped with optical 2D-barcodes.These 2D-barcodes, then, inform the system about the product the customer is currently interested in. The advantage of this is that these 2D-barcodes can be printed with regular printers and thus they are particulary favorable und easy integratable in existing price marking systems. Furthermore, 2D-barcodes can hold a much higher amount of information than only the product ID as in case of regular EAN-13 barcodes. Thereby, on a voucher, several product IDs, dealer information, affiliate information and the date of purchase can be encoded for later complaints or new consulting sessions using more4less.

The customer receives additional product suggestions to complete an outfit when the system is being informed about a product or products a customer is interested in. These suggestions are evaluated by an especially for more4less developed price and bundle mechanism. A dynamically calculated total bundle price with discount is created as well. The prospective buyer can also hold multiple different bundle combinations and prices within the shopping cart by using the activate/deactive feature. In contrast to a regular shopping cart, you can exclude products from price calculation without removing them from the cart with this feature.

To give the customer the possibility to freely move through the store during an advisory-session the customer receives a personal 2D-barcode printed by the system at the first contact with the system. With this 2D-barcode the customer can continue the advisory-session at any terminal inside a shop.

more4less Screenshot

At the end of a shopping session the customer receives a voucher which also contains 2D-barcodes for each bought product and one tag which contains all products on the voucher. These barcodes enable the user to start a new advisory-session based on the product or products encoded in the 2D-barcode. The realization of dynamic discounts based on already bought products or across different affiliated chains are possible as well.

Implementation

The more4less prototype is based on Flash/Flex, Java, Castor, Axis2 and optical QR codes. The customer communicates with the system via a touch screen display. The 2D-barcodes are recognized via a typical webcam.

Demo Video

The following video shows the more4less prototype.

more4less - Shopping Advisor am Point of Sale

Idee

Der im Forschungsprojekt Informationstechnologien entwickelte Protoyp „more4less“ ermöglicht es einem Kunden sich beim Kaufentscheidungsprozess beraten zu lassen. Durch die Nutzung des more4less-Terminals im Laden, im aktuellen Fall ein Kleidungsfachgeschäft, hat der Kunde beim Entscheidungsprozess zwei Vorteile: einerseits schlägt der Advisor ihm additive Produkte vor, um ein Outfit zu vervollständigen; andererseits erhält der Kunde sowohl für die Benutzung des Systems als auch für den gleichzeitigen Kauf mehrerer Produkte (Produktbündel) einen dynamischen Rabatt.

Konzept

Um dem System mitteilen zu können, an welchem Produkt bzw. an welchen Produkten man interessiert ist, sind alle Produkte des Shops mit optischen 2D-Barcodes ausgezeichnet. Der Vorteil ist hierbei, dass diese mit handelsüblichen Druckern erstellt und dadurch sehr kostengünstig und leicht in bestehende Auszeichnungssysteme integriert werden können. Des Weiteren können optische 2D-Barcodes erheblich mehr Informationen codieren als nur die Produkt-ID wie es bei regulären Bar-Codes der Fall ist. Dadurch können auf dem Kassenbon für spätere Reklamationen oder erneute Beratungsvorgänge durch more4less auch mehrere Produkt-IDs, Händlerdaten, Ladenketteninformationen und das Kaufdatum im 2D-Barcode festgehalten werden.

Wurde dem System mitgeteilt an welchem Produkt bzw. welchen Produkten der Kunde interessiert ist, werden dem Kunden auf Basis eines für more4less entwickelten Bündel- und Preismechanismus weitere Produkte zur Vervollständigung des Outfits, sowie ein dynamischer Gesamtpreis mit Rabatt für den kompletten Einkaufswagen angeboten. Durch die Möglichkeit der Aktivierung/Deaktivierung von Produkten im Einkaufskorb kann der Kunde alle Produkte von Interesse im Einkaufswagen behalten und dennoch sehen wie viel er in welcher Produktbündel-Kombination bezahlen muss.

Damit der Kunde sich zwischen den einzelnen Beratungsschritten frei im Laden bewegen und umschauen kann, erhält er beim ersten Kontakt mit dem System einen Ausdruck seines persönlichen 2D-Barcodes. Mit dessen Hilfe kann der Kunde seinen Beratungsvorgang an jedem beliebigen Terminal im Laden fortsetzen.

more4less Screenshot

Beim Abschluss des Einkaufsvorganges erhält der Kunde einen Kassenbon mit optischen 2D-Barcodes für die einzelnen gekauften Produkte und einem Gesamt-2D-Barcode, welcher es erlaubt einen erneuten Einkaufsvorgang zu starten. Die Umsetzung von Rabattkonzepten auf der Basis bereits gekaufter Produkte bzw. über verschiedene Ladenketten hinweg sind somit möglich.

Realisierung

Der more4less-Protoyp wurde auf Basis von Flash/Flex, Java, Castor, Axis2 und optischen QR Codes realisiert. Der Kunde kommuniziert mit dem System über einen Touch-Screen. Die 2D-Barcodes werden mit Hilfe einer handelsüblichen Webcam erkannt.

Demonstrationsvideo

Das folgende Video zeigt den, im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts entstandenen, more4less Prototyp.