Interactive Knowledge Stack (IKS)

Funding: EU-Project (Large Scale Integrated Project), Seventh Framework Programme
Project Runtime: January 2009 – December 2012 (48 months)
Project Budget: 227.548 Euro (Total: 8,5 M. Euro)

Interactive Knowledge Stack for small to medium CMS/KMS providers

Collaborative Large-scale Integrating Project EU-IST Seventh Framework Programme- ICT-2007-4.4 "Intelligent Content and Semantics"

What is Interactive Knowledge?

IKS, Interactive Knowledge Stack, is an Integrating Project part-funded by the European Commission. It started in January 2009 and will provide an open source technology platform for semantically enhanced content management systems. IKS is targeted on the hundreds of SMEs in Europe, which are providing technology platforms for content and knowledge management to thousands of end user organisations. Downstream, hundreds of housands of corporate end users and millions of content consumers are affected by the quality of service provided through these platforms. However, the majority of these platforms lack the capability for making use of semantic web enabled, intelligent content and, therefore, lack the capacity for users to interact with the content at the user‘s knowledge level. The major technological result of the project will be the „Interactive Knowledge Stack“, a layered set of software components and specifications which will make traditional content management platforms capable of dealing with the future "Semantic Web". IKS is developed by a consortium of seven research partners and six industrial partners who use open source content management technology for their CMS and KMS frameworks:

salzburg-research.png dfki.png uni-stgallen.png university-paderborn.png
istc.png sr-dc.png hfu.png nuxeo.png
alkacon.png pisano.png nemein-oy.png day.png
txt.png

Our contribution

ISS will contribute 46 man months to the IKS project. The focus lies on the development of an “Intelligent Bathroom” use case which represents the "far out" vision of Interactive Knowledge by merging advanced content and knowledge management technologies with technologies developed by research on Ambient Intelligence and Internet of Things. In this use case, ISS collaborates with DFKI and Duravit AG, a leading manufacturer of high-quality bathroom equipment who provides IKS with high-end bathroom infrastructures. In Duravit’s latest show rooms ISS demonstrates the use of multimedia knowledge-driven Ambient Intelligence Infotainment within bathroom scenarios. For instance, you are taking a bath while watching a football match with muted sound and you are listening to music while waiting for a goal to be scored. Suddenly, you have a great idea concerning your work and with some simple spoken commands you dim the music, add your computer desktop to the display, and re-plan your latest project through gesture interaction while still relaxing in the bath...

Duravit Bild Copyright © Duravit

To realize this vision, ISS develops an initial design method for interactive knowledge-supported intelligent environments (Workpackage 2) and deploys intelligent environments supported by interactive knowledge according to previously defined requirements (Workpackage 4). The final results are evaluated intelligent environments with different degrees of embedded interactive knowledge that support defined application scenarios. Based on design specifications of intelligent environments supported by interactive knowledge. We will develop instrumented environments within the context of bathrooms provided by the confirmed (external) application partner Duravit AG. In June 2011 we demonstrated a software prototype for an embedded interactive knowledge management in our "bathroom" environment.

Project Websites

www.iks-project.eu

Contact

Group leader: Sabine Janzen


Related publications

Maass, W. & Janzen, S.

Pattern-Based Approach for Designing with Diagrammatic and Propositional Conceptual Models, 6th Int. Conf. on Design Science Research in Information Systems and Technology (DESRIST 2011), Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA, 2011.
PDF (360 KB) - BibTeX

Janzen, S., Filler, A., Maass, W.

Designing Ubiquitous Information Systems based on Conceptual Models, Workshop "Sozio-technisches Systemdesign im Zeitalter des Ubiquitous Computing (SUBICO 2011)" at Informatik 2011, Berlin, 2011.
PDF (3.48 MB) - BibTeX

Janzen, S., Kowatsch, T. & Maass, W.

Springer (ed.)
A Methodology for Content-Centered Design of Ambient Environments, DESRIST 2010: Global Perspectives on Design Science Research, St. Gallen, Switzerland, 2010, pp. 210-225.
PDF (4.49 MB) - BibTeX

Janzen, S., Kowatsch, T., Maass, W. & Filler, A.

Linkage of Heterogeneous Knowledge Resources within In-store Dialogue Interaction, 9th International Semantic Web Conference (ISWC 2010), Shanghai, China, 2010.
PDF (759 KB) - BibTeX

Interactive Knowledge Stack (IKS)

Förderung: EU-Projekt (Large Scale Integrated Project), 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramm
Projektlaufzeit: Januar 2009 – Dezember 2012 (48 Monate)
Projektbudget: 227.548 Euro (Gesamt: 8,5 Mio. Euro)

Interactive Knowledge Stack für klein- bis mittelgroße CMS/KMS Anbieter

Kollaboratives Large-scale IP-Projekt (Integrated Project) 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm – ICT-2007-4.4 „Intelligent Content and Semantics“

Was ist IKS?

IKS, Interactive Knowledge Stack, ist ein von der EU teilfinanziertes IP-Projekt. Es startete im Januar 2009 und wird eine Open-Source Technologie-Plattform zur Erweiterung von Content Management Systemen (CMS) um semantische Funktionalitäten hervorbringen. IKS adressiert mittelständische Unternehmen in Europa, welche Technologie-Plattformen zum Content- und Knowledge-Management für tausende Endnutzer anbieten. Die Qualität des Services, die Plattformen dieser Art anbieten, beeinflusst wiederum hunderttausende von kommerziellen Endnutzern und Millionen von Inhaltskonsumenten. Dennoch fehlt dem Großteil dieser Plattformen die Fähigkeit einen Mehrwert aus der Technologie des semantischen Web und intelligenten Inhalten zu ziehen. Des Weiteren fehlt die Möglichkeit der individuellen Interaktion mit den Inhalten durch den Nutzer. Den Kern der technischen Entwicklung innerhalb des Projektes stellt der „Interactive Knowledge Stack“ dar, eine Schichtenarchitektur bestehend aus Komponenten und Spezifikationen, welche es traditionellen CMS ermöglichen soll in Zukunft die Technologien des semantischen Web zu nutzen. IKS wird durch ein Konsortium von sieben Forschungs- und sechs Industriepartnern entwickelt, welche Open-Source Content-Management-Technologien für ihre CMS- und KMS-Frameworks einsetzen:

salzburg-research.png dfki.png uni-stgallen.png university-paderborn.png
istc.png sr-dc.png hfu.png nuxeo.png
alkacon.png pisano.png nemein-oy.png day.png
txt.png uds-logo-klein.png

Unser Beitrag

ISS trägt 46 Personenmonate zu IKS bei. Der Fokus liegt hierbei auf der Umsetzung eines „Intelligenten Badezimmers“, welches die Zukunftsvision von interaktivem Wissen repräsentiert. Dabei sollen erweiterte Content- und Knowledge-Management-Technologien mit Entwicklungen aus dem Forschungsbereich der „Ambient Intelligence“ und dem Internet der Dinge verschmelzen. In diesem Use-Case arbeitet ISS mit dem DFKI und der Duravit AG, einem führenden Hersteller für hochqualitative Badausstattungen, zusammen. Die Duravit AG stellt hierfür im Rahmen von IKS eine High-End Badumgebung zur Verfügung. Auf diese Weise ist es ISS möglich multimediale, umgebungsintelligente Informations- und Unterhaltungssysteme in ein Badezimmer-Szenario zu integrieren und zu evaluieren. Als Beispiel kann man sich vorstellen, dass man in der Badewanne liegend mit abgeschaltetem Ton ein Fußballspiel im Fernsehen verfolgen kann, während man nebenbei Musik hört. Plötzlich hat man einen Einfall in Bezug auf eine geschäftliche Präsentation, durch wenige, gesprochene Befehle wird die Musik ausgeblendet und der Computer-Desktop erscheint auf dem Display. Während man weiterhin gemütlich in der Badewanne liegt, hat man die Möglichkeit seine Präsentation durch die Verwendung einfacher Gesten zu überarbeiten...

Duravit BildCopyright © Duravit Zur Umsetzung dieser Idee entwickelt ISS eine neue Design-Methode für interaktive, wissensbasierte Umgebungen (WP2) und realisiert in diesem Zusammenhang umgebungsintelligente Systeme, welche durch interaktives Wissen basierend auf den zuvor definierten Anforderungen unterstützt werden (WP4). Das Ergebnis besteht in evaluierten, umgebungsintelligenten Systemen, die interaktives Wissen in unterschiedlichem Maße einbetten und vorab definierte Anwendungsszenarien unterstützen, z.B. Umgebungen im Themenbereich des Badezimmers. Im Juni 2011 demonstrierten wir in Zusammenarbeit mit der Duravit AG einen Prototypen eines interaktiven, umgebungsintelligenten Wissensmanagements eingebettet in eine Badezimmer-Umgebung.

Projekt Websites

www.iks-project.eu

Medienecho

Radiobeitrag bei SR 2

Kontakt

Gruppenleiter: Sabine Janzen


Publikationen zum Thema

Maass, W. & Janzen, S.

Pattern-Based Approach for Designing with Diagrammatic and Propositional Conceptual Models, 6th Int. Conf. on Design Science Research in Information Systems and Technology (DESRIST 2011), Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA, 2011.
PDF (360 KB) - BibTeX

Janzen, S., Filler, A., Maass, W.

Designing Ubiquitous Information Systems based on Conceptual Models, Workshop "Sozio-technisches Systemdesign im Zeitalter des Ubiquitous Computing (SUBICO 2011)" at Informatik 2011, Berlin, 2011.
PDF (3.48 MB) - BibTeX

Janzen, S., Kowatsch, T. & Maass, W.

Springer (Hrsg.)
A Methodology for Content-Centered Design of Ambient Environments, DESRIST 2010: Global Perspectives on Design Science Research, St. Gallen, Switzerland, 2010, pp. 210-225.
PDF (4.49 MB) - BibTeX

Janzen, S., Kowatsch, T., Maass, W. & Filler, A.

Linkage of Heterogeneous Knowledge Resources within In-store Dialogue Interaction, 9th International Semantic Web Conference (ISWC 2010), Shanghai, China, 2010.
PDF (759 KB) - BibTeX