DSCS - Data Science Center for Smart Services

Funding: intern
Duration: ab 04.2015
Budget: intern

DSCS

DSCS - Data Science Center for Smart Services

Many research areas increasingly investigate innovative questions that try to leverage large amounts of data. This includes areas, such as healthcare, material sciences, physics, economics and many more. Currently research groups build and maintain their own data science infrastructures, train stundents on various levels in innovative methods of statistical learning, and set up research projects accordingly. In general but also in particular for groups at Saarland University, this process is slow, error-prone, and expensive.

The Data science Center for Smart Services (DSCS) starts with with the goal of becoming a core facility for research groups at Saarland University that investigate research from a data science perspective. DSCS intends to provide an open platform for rapidly building data-intensive applications (Smart Services). The software platform for data processing uses leading Open Source Software solutions, such as Apache Spark and Apache Flink.

The European Data Science Summer School (ED3S) has been conducted for the third time this year with PhD students from all over Europe and from various fields. It is intended to tightly connect ED3S and DSCS so that training is performed on high-end infrastructures.

Kontakt: Wolfgang Maaß

DSCS - Data Science Center for Smart Services

Förderung: intern
Projektlaufzeit: ab 04.2015
Projektbudget: intern

DSCS

DSCS - Data Science Center for Smart Services

Viele Forschungsbereiche untersuchen zunehmend innovative Fragen, die versuchen, große Datenmengen sinnvoll zu nutzen. Dazu gehören z. B. die Bereiche Gesundheitswesen, Materialwissenschaften, Physik, Wirtschaft und noch eine Vielzahl weiterer Bereiche. Derzeit bauen und unterhalten Forschungsgruppen eigene datenwissenschaftliche Infrastrukturen, bilden Studenten auf verschiedenen Ebenen zu innovativen Methoden des statistischen Lernens aus und richten entsprechende Forschungsprojekte ein. Dieses Angebot gibt es auch für Studenten an der Universität des Saarlandes, aber dieser Prozess ist langsam, fehleranfällig und teuer.

Das Data Science Center für Smart Services (DSCS) startet mit dem Ziel, eine zentrale Einrichtung für Forschungsgruppen an der Universität des Saarlandes zu werden, die Forschung aus datenwissenschaftlicher Sicht untersuchen. DSCS beabsichtigt, eine offene Plattform für die schnelle Erstellung datenintensiver Anwendungen (Smart Services) bereitzustellen. Die Softwareplattform für die Datenverarbeitung nutzt führende Open-Source-Softwarelösungen wie Apache Spark und Apache Flink.

Die European Data Science Summer School (ED3S) wurde dieses Jahr zum dritten Mal mit Doktoranden, Masterstudenten und Professionals aus ganz Europa und aus verschiedenen Bereichen durchgeführt. Es ist beabsichtigt, die ED3S und das DSCS eng miteinander zu verbinden, so dass Schulungen in High-End-Infrastrukturen durchgeführt werden können.

Kontakt: Wolfgang Maaß